Read-a-thon Reading List + Charity Update!

13 Oct

I posted a few days ago about how I’m planning on participating in the 24-hour Read-a-thon on Oct. 22nd, and ever since then, I’ve been narrowing down my book list to something approaching reasonable. And then the National Book Awards were announced yesterday, and it threw my list into upheaval.

You see, I’ve never been the type to try to read as many of the NBA finalists as I can before the awards in November. I try to keep my award fanaticism sequestered to Oscar season. But there were some great books on the finalists lists this year, and I couldn’t help but jump on my library’s catalog as soon as they were announced to reserve a few things.

I’m trying to be a little more strategic in my choices, mostly shorter books, a lot of YA and action-y books to keep my interest peaked. And as I said in my earlier post, I’ve got some school reading to do as well.

So here’s my tentative list for now:

I know what you’re thinking: Anna Karenina is not short, Rachel. I’ll be posting my plans for that book on Friday – it’s not out of left field I swear.

Now! On to much more exciting news!

I’m really pumped to announce two very exciting charity-related tidbits. First of all, I’ve decided that, in addition to First Book, I’m going to add a second charity that I’ll be turning the pages for: Read Out and Read’s Military Initiative. In case you’re not familiar, ROR provides books to children as part of their standard doctor visits. They’ve just announced that they’re expanding to 100 more military bases and as a military brat who loves to read (duh), I can’t NOT get involved with this great cause.

Also, to make that effort easier, Kerry at Entomology of a Bookworm graciously offered to match my donations, since she can’t participate in the read-a-thon herself! How amazing is that? Thanks, Kerry, for your generosity! That brings us up to 20 cents donated per page, and I’ll be splitting the donations equally between these two nonprofits.

7 Responses to “Read-a-thon Reading List + Charity Update!”

  1. Kerry October 13, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I hope you read The Magicians. I’m having a secret love affair with that book (and its sequel). I’m itching to read When She Woke, as well, along with several others on your list. Happy reading!!

    • Rachel October 13, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      Do you think it’ll be a fast, easyish read for read-a-thon?

      • Kerry October 16, 2011 at 11:32 am #

        It’s actually a pretty long book, but plot-wise it is definitely fast-paced. I read it in a few days – I was hooked.

  2. nomadreader October 13, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I’m using mostly the same strategy: short, young adult and graphic novels. I’ll probably throw in some of my Anna Karenina reading too (glad to assume you’re doing the read-a-long too!) and whatever I’m still reading at that moment (perhaps it will still be Zone One, which I cannot wait for.)

    • Rachel October 13, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      I am indeed. Posting more about it tomorrow, but yup! I’m hoping I’ll get ahead a little bit.

  3. Biblibio October 14, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    Wow, that’s a long and diverse list… Personally, I think The Magicians is mediocre at best but many other readers have obviously liked it immensely (so my opinion can be considered moot), but I’m interested in a few of the other titles you’ve got here on your tentative list… hope you have fun reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anna Karenina + Friday Wrap-Up « a home between pages - October 15, 2011

    […] Girl by Rachel Simon, announced my intention to read-a-thon for charity again this year, and then amended that announcement with my reading list, a second charity and matched donations. If you missed me over on BookRiot.com […]

Leave a Reply

