Anna Karenina + Friday Wrap-Up

15 Oct

Holy moly, people! I’ve never been as busy as I was this week – and I posted here four times. Aren’t you impressed?? There’s been a boatload of stuff going on this week, clearly, and I don’t want you to miss a moment.

But first, I gotta talk about Anna Karenina – specifically the read-along I’m participating in over at Wallace’s blog, Unputdownables. And surprise, surprise, I’m already behind. We’re reading about 63 pages a week (~9 pages a day), which isn’t too terrible to manage, but this week I also wanted to read the introductory essay in my copy of the book to get myself in the right frame of mind and to also have a sense of what to expect. So I’m glad I read it – I got this whole theme of duality right off the bat, especially in the famous opening line, “All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way” – but I’ll have to do some catch-up this weekend.

I’ll be check in with Wallace’s blog every Friday, and hopefully I’ll be posting at least a little something here on Fridays as well to go along with my reading, but no guarantees.

What’s also exciting about this read-along is that, by participating, I’m checking off one of my 30-for-30 goals! And as I look ahead to the next two years or so, I’m already making plans for a few of my other ventures. I’ve got sky-diving on the calendar, and I’m signing up for the New York City Triathlon on Nov. 1st (or at least signing up for the lottery in hopes of getting in). If I can’t get into NYC, I’m going to sign up for Nation’s Tri right here in DC which falls on my birthday next year. I may just do both ;).

And looking way ahead, I’m hoping to get into the Marine Corps Marathon in 2013, which technically will fall after my 30th birthday, but what a great way to celebrate, huh?

In terms of what’s been going on here, in case you missed it, I posted a review of The Story of Beautiful Girl by Rachel Simon, announced my intention to read-a-thon for charity again this year, and then amended that announcement with my reading list, a second charity and matched donations. If you missed me over on BookRiot.com this week, I celebrated the library book sale and posted a plea to publishers: Don’t Be Like Netflix.

That was my week, how was yours??

4 Responses to “Anna Karenina + Friday Wrap-Up”

  1. Amanda October 15, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    So awesome, I love your checklist! I tried reading AK a while back and got about halfway through and then lost interest. I want to finish but don’t have a clue where I left off which means I’d have to start all over again. Blah. Not sure HOW much I want to do that. I might try War & Peace instead.

  2. Kerry October 16, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Isn’t it satisfying to work on your 30 by 30 list? I’ve been bad with mine lately, but have the best intentions. I hope you keep enjoying Anna Karenina – I have War and Peace on my list but I think I’ll read Anna Karenina first to ease myself in…

  3. Deborah Batterman October 19, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    I immersed myself in ‘Anna Karenina’ a few summers ago . . . this summer it was that other famous literary heroine (‘Madame Bovary’, the new Lydia Davis translation) who captivated me. Rereading both books — from the perspective of a woman (of a certain age) and a writer — only served to reinforce the timeless nature of great literature.

  4. Christina November 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I LOVE the cover on your copy of Anna Karenina. I’m usually perpetually behind with the read-a-long, but this week I actually managed to get ahead with a bit. Good luck with all your plans for triathlons!

Leave a Reply

