Read-a-thon: Hour One! (It Begins…)

22 Oct

I’m up, I’m up. I swear I’m up!

Why is it that I always manage to go out way, way too late the night before a read-a-thon?? It happens every single time :-/.

Oh well. No better way to recover from a hangover than to read all day, right?

The traditional questions for hour one:

  1. Where are you reading from today?
    • Washingon, DC, USA
  2. Three random facts about me…
    • I learned how to swim before I could walk.
    • I’ve never read anything by Steinbeck.
    • I can’t whistle or snap my fingers on my left hand.
  3. How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?
    • About 15, but I find that when I start to get sleepy, I’ll pull anything off the shelf to stay awake.
  4. Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
    • I’m reading to support Reach Out and Read’s Military Initiative and First Book, so I’d like to read 1000 pages. At 20 cents a page that’s $100 for each organization.
  5. If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?
    • Well it’s a little late for this advice, but start with something easy, that you’ll finish fast, so you feel like you’ve accomplished something early in the game. Also if something isn’t working for you, put it down and read something else. This is read-a-thon, so the typical rules of “I must finish every book I start!” don’t really apply here.

Also, I was going to try to keep all my updates to Tumblr, but I realized that I signed up with this link, and the cheerleaders are going to get confused. So in the interest of not pissing off my cheerleaders, I’ll be posting here instead. Mini-challenges and things like that will probably be on Tumblr though.

So welcome! and good luck, fellow read-a-thoners!

6 Responses to “Read-a-thon: Hour One! (It Begins…)”

  1. Kerry October 22, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Good luck! Have fun!

  2. Emily October 22, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Hope you are enjoying your day of reading so far, happy readathon!

  3. Brenna (Literary Musings) October 22, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Have fun! Stay focused and I’ll bet you make that 1,000 page mark 🙂

  4. Shan October 22, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Here we are at hour 9, hope you’re doing well!

  5. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books October 22, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Happy read-a-thon! Good luck with hitting that 1000 page mark – you can do it!

  6. Heather October 22, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Thank you for all of the comments today, Rachel! I hope you’re having a good time. 😀

Leave a Reply

