UPDATE: Read-a-thon: End of Event Meme

23 Oct

UPDATE: HOKAY, so, apparently my nook miscounted pages in The Monstrumologist. Because Goodreads and BN.com is saying the ebook is actually 448 pages. (Those pages did seem to take a long time to turn.) So I’m going with that total instead of 288. That puts me at a total of 844 pages. MUCH BETTER! I think the reason I was feeling so discouraged by my page count was that I thought it was taking me forever to get through a 288-page book. When it was actually 160 pages longer than that! Makes sense now…

My total money raised is now $168.80.

*****

Well, not as successful as I’d hoped, but Not A Bad Showing.

I’d planning on updating more on Twitter and Tumblr but I was focused on my books and then I was asleep. Whoops!

Final count:

2 1/3 books read:

Total page count:

684 pages. Not even close to the 1000 I wanted but it turns out sleep is more powerful than monsters.

Money raised:

$136.80

Not bad at all. I can be pretty happy with that number. Now for the traditional End-of-Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
    • Hour 7 actually. I’d just had some lunch and got really super sleepy. I took about an hour long nap before I could keep going.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
    • The Monstrumologist was fantastic for keeping me awake and engaged. Plus it was spooky and totally appropriate for Halloween time.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
    • Nope, everyone did a great job. I didn’t get many cheerleaders but I suspect that was because I wasn’t posting frequently.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
    • The mini-challenges were great and I think trading off hosting duties more frequently (if that’s true, maybe I just haven’t been paying attention) worked well.
  5. How many books did you read?
    • 2 1/3
  6. What were the names of the books you read?
    • Last 92 pages of Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close
    • The Forest for the Trees by Betsy Lerner
    • The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
  7. Which book did you enjoy most?
    • Toss up between Girls in White Dresses and The Monstrumologist. They’re so different it’s hard to pick.
  8. Which did you enjoy least?
    • Obviously The Forest for the Trees. It was for school though, so that probably explains why.
  9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
    • Very likely. Even though I feel asleep around Hour 16, and managed to wake up half an hour before the read-a-thon was over to finish my last book, this felt like a less successful attempt than in years past. Probably because of the low book count. I’d like to be more of a cheerleader, but I don’t know that I have the stamina for it, at least not until I finish with school.

Thanks for everyone who came by last night and cheered me on!

3 Responses to “UPDATE: Read-a-thon: End of Event Meme”

  1. Kimberley October 23, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I think you did a great job, you can be proud of yourself! 😀

  2. Kerry October 30, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Awesome! Let me know how I should coordinate my matching donation!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Read-a-Thon: The Morning After | The Portrait of a Would-Be Artist as a Young Woman - October 24, 2011

    […] a little questionnaire from Rachel at A Home Between Pages to sum things […]

Leave a Reply

