51 days and counting!

10 Nov

First off, yes, I suck. I haven’t posted here in a very long time. Between school, work and Book Riot responsibilities, I’ve been a neglectful blog owner. So my apologies. Some of you still visit me, so I hope you’ll forgive the absence.  In completely related news, I haven’t really read much since the read-a-thon, and I’m going through serious withdrawal. I did go on a cross country flight last weekend, but because I’ve been horribly sick with a death cold, I spent most of the flights sleeping or reading for school. ::Sigh:: is it a normal response to grad school to want to quit because you miss your books? That happens right?

I have been posting on Book Riot:

  • First a look at how chick lit is changing (or dying) in the recession age.
  • I also posted a reading pathway to one of my favorites, John Irving. Want to work up to A Prayer for Owen Meany? Follow this guide.
  • In honor of the beginning of Movember, I posted a list of the best literary ‘staches.
  • And today, one I’m particularly proud of, The Write Stuff, a look at presidential campaign books.

But back to the topic at hand!

There are just over 50 days left in the calendar year. I know, right? Where did 2011 go??

But it also means that the major book sites are starting to post their Best of 2011 lists. While I think it’s a bit premature, even though they’ve read all the pre-release galleys for anything coming out in the next 50 days, I’m gobbling up the lists, anyways. I likely won’t publish my own “best of” until Christmas time. Though knowing my schedule around the end of the year, it might even be after the New Year that I get around to it. I finish classes and school work for the semester in mid-December, but I’m already figuring out the best use of my reading time from now until 2012. I’ve got to read 15 books by the end of the year to make my goal of 60. I don’t anticipate that being a problem, but it’s going to be a race, that’s for sure.

I’m actually really tempted to draw my last 15 books (well, 14 – I’m almost done with Practical Jean by Trevor Cole) from Amazon’s Best of 2011 list. As much as I dislike buying from Amazon, the list isn’t off the mark at all and I could easily pull my last 14 reads from books I already own. How’s this list sound for a final push toward 2012? (And yes, I’m linking to Powell’s no Amazon. It is #IndieThursday after all.):

And then taking into account the books I don’t own but want to buy:

That’s 15 books. And about a million pages. Okay actually, according to Goodreads’ page counts, it’s 7,007 pages.  Someone send reinforcements. Or liquor.

7 Responses to “51 days and counting!”

  1. Kim (Sophisticated Dorkiness) November 10, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    There are a lot of great books on that list! I’ve read a few, but certainly not all of them. I was having a terrible time reading, to the point where I was starting to feel really out-of-sorts about it… but then I somehow found some mojo this week. Good luck with the rest of the year 🙂

  2. Kerry M November 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Great list! Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children has been popping up all over lately and is now very much on my radar. I just got an audio copy of 11/22/63, but at 30+ hours, I’m not sure how soon I’ll be able to tackle/finish that one…

    I’m hoping to spend some of Thanksgiving/Christmas breaks reading a few more classics to round out my year – that was one of my goals, and I’ve read a whopping 5. Of 73. Not that I sat down and counted them all this morning to see where I stood, of course…

    • Rachel November 10, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

      Yeah, I forgot to mention in this post that I’m still trying to finish Anna Karenina before the year is out too. Ugh. My head hurts just thinking about it. Good luck with the audio of 11/22/63 – I’ll be curious to hear how you’re enjoying that!

      My classics list at this point is just a guide for what I want to eventually read, I can’t bear to put a deadline on those.

      • Kerry M November 11, 2011 at 10:32 am #

        I suppose the only list of classics I want to read is whatever is on my bookshelf. I don’t have a particular list, but I find that unless I give myself some kind of deadline/obligation/motivation, I’ll constantly pick up newer titles instead of the classics. But I’ve loved all 5 classics I’ve read thus far, so I don’t know why I find it so hard to start them!

  3. chroniclesofalibrarianintraining November 11, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Yes, it is a normal response to want to quit grad school because you miss reading. 🙂 I actually woke up an hour earlier than usual 2 days this week to read The Marriage Plot because I feel like I’m losing my mind without my books!

    Of your list I’ve read The Submission (loved it) and am hoping to finish The Marriage Plot this weekend (damn, group project). I also have The Weird Sisters, The Tiger’s Wife and The Art of Fielding in my TBR pile (mountain.)

    I have my last final on Dec. 7 and then I have a glorious month free before winter term (my last one!)

  4. Brenna (Literary Musings) November 11, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    I perused the Amazon best of 2011 list the other day. Everything was so tempting! I’m lucky I have one off the list that I haven’t read yet (The Art of Fielding). Of the list, I have read The Marriage Plot and The Submission – very different but both wonderful! I did not like The Weird Sisters.

    I am also dying for a copy of 11/22/63.

    • Rachel November 11, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      I was pretty happy, having read 5 off the top 20: Before I Go To Sleep, The Night Circus, Bossypants, We the Animals, and The Sisters Brothers. Surprisingly, two of those were audio!

      I bought 11/22/63 today, and I’m like a little kid about it :).

Leave a Reply

