All I Want…Thankfully Reading & Christmas Wishes

16 Nov

Thanksgiving is in 8 days. EIGHT. DAYS. Where on Earth has this year gone? This Fall? It feels like I was just gearing up to start my Master’s and now my first semester is just about over. My mom is slightly incapacitated because of a bike accident and a dislocated thumb, so it’s quite possible that I will be responsible for Thanksgiving dinner this year. Which is fine and dandy except that I work until 9pm the night before. So I’m likely going to be very busy on Turkey Day itself, but I’d like to try to get as much reading in as possible, since one of my rare holidays off includes the post-Thanksgiving Friday.

Jenn at Jenn’s Bookshelves is hosting the third annual Thankfully Reading Weekend, which has the simple goal of reading as much as possible during the four-day weekend of Thanksgiving. That is a challenge I can get behind! Especially with all the books I’d like to finish before the end of the year, a weekend devoted to reading, food, football, and family is one I can absolutely support.

With this holiday approaching quickly though, I’ve started to think about my Christmas lists – both what I would like and what I want to give. You would think that, as a book lover, my wishlist would be full of new books and book-related accessories, maybe even a new eReader. But I find that my wishlist is going to be impossible to fulfill. Blame it on maturity, blame it on not having another inch of space to devote to any new things – let alone more books, I’m all about the intangibles this holiday season.

I wish not for new books, but for all the time in the world to read them. And review them.

I wish not for an iPad, but for the modesty to be happy with the gadgets I’ve already got and the patience to use them most efficiently.

I wish not for new PJs, but for a calm mind and peaceful thoughts to sleep better.

I wish not for a new party dress, but for an occasion to wear it proudly.

I wish not for bottles of good wine, but for schedules and lives that allow me to drink with my girlfriends.

I wish not for plane tickets, but for the excellent company on the other end.

I wish not for gift certificates to restaurants, but for the right guy to ask me on a date to one of them.

I wish not for a new book bag or school supplies, but for the ability to budget my time well.

I wish not for a massage at a spa, but for the ability to find stress relief in my everyday life.

I wish not for new running shoes or workout gear, but the motivation and energy to make exercise a priority.

I have a feeling Santa’s going to struggle stuffing my stocking this year…

What are you wishing for?

6 Responses to “All I Want…Thankfully Reading & Christmas Wishes”

  1. alicewonderland0 November 16, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    man, that list is a lot more commendable than mine… which is filled with Many Material Things 🙂

  2. Brenna November 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Rachel, what a fantastic Christmas list. It’s a great reminder to appreciate the things we already have instead of focusing on the things we think we need. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Kerry M November 16, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Wonderful list! True that Santa might have a hard time fitting that in your stocking, but it’s worth it to focus on the things that really matter.

  4. Meg November 17, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    I’m a big fan of the intangibles as well! Those seem to be harder to get sometimes though.

  5. booksnyc November 23, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Love this list! A great reminder to focus on experiences and not “stuff”. Hope you get all your wishes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Week and Counting… « a home between pages - December 22, 2011

    […] we approach the end of the year, I’m listening more and more to those Christmas wishes I listed and thinking about what they really mean. It’s not the physical book that matters so much […]

Leave a Reply

