Looking back at 2011… and ahead to 2012

3 Jan

It’s a new year. It’s also a new day, a new week, and a new month.  (Did you get that memo?)

Which also supposedly means a wrap up post for 2011. I posted my Top Five at Book Riot in mid-December, and for the most part they haven’t changed much. The Art of Fielding maintained it’s spot even after I finished it – and I ended up buying it for my dad for Christmas. I set a few goals as part of Reading Deliberately at the beginning of 2011: read more Chunksters, Classics, TBR List, and Non-fiction and Blog more. Ugh. I already feel the shame creeping in of what I didn’t accomplish. Ah well, new year, new goals, right?

Let’s break it down a bit though.

I didn’t reach my goal of 60 books, but I did read 53, finishing the last one (What Alice Forgot), just before I had to jump in the shower to get ready for a New Year’s Eve party. I’m actually pretty happy about that because it’s still an average of more than one book a week. Of course, I’d like to read more this year, but I would be happy with meeting the same number. Grad school for the entire year this year will do a number on my pleasure reading, so this is the best I can reach for.

I also read 19,046 pages, which I’m also very happy about. The longest book I read in 2011 was actually the first book I read: Gone with the Wind. At over a thousand pages, it beat out anything else I read by far. Not as many chunksters as I’d hoped though – only a total of five books over 500 pages.  I also completely failed at reading more Classics this year too. And only six of my books were non-fiction. And that whole “blog more” thing – that didn’t so much happen.

But out with the old, in with the new!

I’m vowing this year – okay, maybe not vowing, because that’s awfully strong language – I’ll be trying this year to keep some of those same goals in mind. I’m still going to be Reading Deliberately, if for no other reason than the fact that my personal reading time is going to be precise and limited. In that vein, I’m also going to try to read more books that have been heavily recommended by friends or fellow book bloggers, like for example Mr. Peanut which Rebecca at The Book Lady’s Blog has been pushing forever.

Blogging more – I really want to do that. I really do, but I’m going to have to balance my commitments a little more strictly this year. That means at least one blog a week here, and at least one a week over at Book Riot. If I can do more, I will, but that’s what I’m shooting for, for now.

As part of my running 30 for 30 list, I’m going to work on Jane Austen, and Harry Potter, though I don’t know if I can take another crack at Anna Karenina until I get a different translation.

I’m also starting my “Take a photo every day for a year” task, which you can follow on Tumblr and on Flickr.

It’s going to be a great year. What are your reading goals? And resolutions?

4 Responses to “Looking back at 2011… and ahead to 2012”

  1. Greg Zimmerman January 3, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    Nice – you beat me (but it’s not a competition, right?!) by about 60 pages. But you read a lot more books.

    Hey, I’m also planning to read Mr. Peanut at some point in 2012, also based on Rebecca’s recommendations. Let me know when you decide to start!

    • Rachel January 3, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      I had to go in and count the pages for the audio I listened to, to get an accurate page count. I would’ve liked a round 20k but wouldn’t we always like more??

      I’m thinking Mr. Peanut will be soonish though, if you’re up for a co-read :).

  2. Kerry M January 4, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I’ve had Mr. Peanut on my shelf I think since about the time I read Rebecca’s original review… still unread. Sadly, I have so very many books like that. I’m going for balance this year – a balance of lit fiction, genre fiction, non-fiction and classics. Hopefully I can find the majority of those from the “books I already own” category, though a lot can also come from the “books I’ve want to read for what feels like forever.” Doesn’t it feel like those lists (of both owned and have-been-wanting-to-own-for-some-time-now) just keep growing??

    I’m also reading one poem a day. I’ve managed to keep that up for four whole days so far!

  3. fiveborobooksKari January 10, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Seems we have/had a lot of the same goals. That “blogging more” one just always seems to allude me…This year I’m trying to read more things I already own so I can clear off some shelves and make room for new! I’m doing grad school this year too, but it actually makes me read MORE. I have a long public transportation commute, which gives me an extra 6 hours a week to do nothing but read!

Leave a Reply

